If you are a vegetarian, you were probably super excited when Burger King came out with the Impossible Whopper. If you love meat, you may have even considered switching your regular order thinking the vegetarian option could be healthier than the regular Whopper. So what are the main differences between these two burgers? If you are not a vegetarian, should you still be eating the Impossible Whopper anyway?
|Regular burger patty||Plant-based, vegan burger patty|
|660 calories||630 calories|
|90 mg of sodium||10 mg of sodium|
The Whopper is Burger King’s signature burger, consisting of a flame-grilled beef patty topped with tomatoes, lettuce, mayonnaise, pickles, ketchup, and sliced onions in a sesame seed bun. It has been around since 1957, originally with a plain bun, but eventually making the switch to a sesame-seed bun in the 1970s.
The Impossible Whopper is Burger King’s alternative to the regular Whopper – the only difference between these two burgers is the actual burger patty. Although the Impossible Whopper is made with a vegan burger patty, these Whoppers are still being prepared on the same grill as Burger King’s other products – which means some people might believe there is some non-vegan contamination.
Regular Whopper VS Impossible Whopper
It is true that the Impossible Whopper has fewer calories than the regular Whopper, but the difference is not very significant. While a regular Whopper has about 660 calories and 40 grams of fat, the Impossible Whopper has 630 calories and 34 grams of fat. However, the regular Whopper does have nine times as much cholesterol (90mg) as an Impossible Whopper and half its dietary fiber. The truth is while the Impossible Whopper might be slightly healthier than the regular Whopper, the difference is so insignificant you shouldn’t base your decision on this next time you order some Burger King.